An independent jury body of investment consultants and academics is responsible for the selection process, with portfolio institutional strictly limited to a coordinating role. The jury body has over 30 members split into two parts:

The academic panel – overseeing the judges
The jury – split into sub-juries for 10 award categories

Each of the 10 sub-juries has developed a submission questionnaire for their respective awards category. It is this submission questionnaire that determines the winner for each category. The eleventh award ‘Industry Achievement’ is selected by popular vote among members of the jury body.